We’re All Like Snowflakes…

So there’s been a lot of internet chatter about this Fox Sports list of hottest baseball players. I agree that the list was lacking, but everyone has a different take and a different idea of what they find attractive. Many female bloggers made their own lists.

Two things always bug me about these lists: 1.) They often ignore players who are not in their 20s, and 2.) they never include Yankees because people just hate the team that much. Also, there seems to be a trend this year wherein baseball announcers keep telling us that players who are 33 and up are entering the geriatric phase of their lives. This bothers me, rightfully, because I’m 34 myself. Shut up, stupid announcers.

I’ve decided, then, that we could all benefit from an appreciative look at some still-very-hot 33+ players, including a Yankee or two.  In no particular order:

1. Derek Jeter (knockin’ on the door of 35)
Jeter1.jpgWill there come a day when Jeter is not hot? I say no.

2. Jason Varitek (37)
Varitek.jpgI think even some female Yankee fans would agree that Tek is a pretty solid hottie.

3. Mike Lowell (35)
Lowell.jpgHe was in the Yankees farm system at one point, so that should make ogling him okay.

4. Andy Pettitte (36)
Pettitte.jpgMaybe this one is just for me, but I think if he were a quarterback instead of a pitcher, every girl would love him to death.

5. Johnny Damon (36)
Damon.jpgThis one’s tough. My brain registers that Johnny is hot, but then I get flashbacks of Red Sox Unshaven Caveman Centerfielder.

6. Ken Griffey Jr. (39)
GriffeyJr.jpgI think Junior has gotten better looking as he’s gotten older. And he has a kickass smile (although not in this picture).

7. Scott Rolen (34)
Rolen.jpgC’mon, now. He’s awesome in the “aw, shucks” kind of way.

8. Ted Lilly (33)
Lilly.jpgHe’s totally rockin’ this suit. For some reason, I also like that he brawled with his own manager while in Toronto.

9. Paul Konerko (33)
Konerko.jpgKonerko has always been a favorite of mine. But when the ChiSox were in the World Series in 2005, I found out that he was born in R.I. and that my dad went to high school with his dad. That just added to my affection for him.

10. & 11. Torii Hunter (33) and Brad Ausmus (40)

Torii2.jpg
Ausmus.jpg

Others had these two on their lists, but I think it bears repeating that Torii Hunter has one of the best smiles in all of baseball, and that Ausmus is ridiculously hot still at 40. Not that 40 is old. If you believe in Oprah then you know that 40 is the new 20.

Leave a comment