Blowouts are Fun! Except When Your DVR Changes the Channel

AJ-pitch.jpg

Kooky night at the Trop for the Yankees. A.J. was a live wire again. I don’t care, as long as it works for him. The Tampa Bay announcers were obsessed with the fact that Kate Hudson was in the house, although they made no mention of the fact that she was sitting next to Todd Bridges of Different Strokes fame. Weird. A-Rod was in a quarrelsome mood at the plate. And Swisher and Cano were on fire. Here’s a gratuitous shot of Robbie smiling after his home run in the sixth:

Robbie_smile.jpgNot to be outdone, Swisher went yard about a minute later. Take that, haters! And by haters, I mean my husband. (Btw, the Swisher battle in my house is becoming epic: Tim simply refers to him as “the S-word.”

Swish_pointing.jpgSo, I was enjoying the romp (and some mint chocolate chip ice cream) when the channel switched to Bravo of its own accord. Damn you, DVR. Because Weeds and Kathy Griffin: My Life on the D List were both taping, I couldn’t watch the rest of the game! There’s got to be a way to fix that you can’t tape two shows and watch a third at the same time, right? I mean, besides making us buy actual Tivo?

When I turned back I saw that Swisher had jacked another one, and that Johnny Damon had hit his 200th career homer.

JohnnyD.jpgIt has taken me a while to warm up to Johnny Damon, and not just because he came from the Red Sox. I know he’s still crazypants on the inside, but he seems to have matured a bit with the Yankees, if only in a relative kind of way. (Also, he dreams about A.J.)

So, congrats all around! Hopefully the Trop and Scotty Kazmir continue to be good to the Yanks tonight.

2 comments

  1. Jane Heller

    Wow. That was weird about your DVR changing channels on you. I’m laughing as I think about watching the Yankees, then suddenly seeing Kathy Griffin! The Yanks need to bounce back from last night’s loss to the Rays and win the series tonight. It’ll be Joba versus Garza, so it should be a great game.

    http://janeheller.mlblogs.com

Leave a Reply

