Sexy Texy

This is why chicks dig the long ball:

Tex.swing.jpgThe crack of the bat, when you know for sure that it’s gone, is one of the coolest sounds ever. Tonight, Mark Teixeira went yard twice, one from either side of the plate. A-Rod also hit a bomb. It was nice to see the two of them jumping on some pitches.

The defense was great behind Pettitte tonight. I am lovin’ Ramiro Pena and Francisco Cervelli. And Texy gets the gold star because in addition to his two jacks, he also made a couple of great plays at first.

And, although, he gave me a minor heart attack at the end, I love that Phil Coke got the save. I’ve actually been pulling for him  – out of all the bullpen guys in there – because I think he can be really good behind Bruney and Mo. He’s definitely a work in progress. It was nice to see him strike out Justin Morneau in convincing fashion in the eighth.  

Last year, nobody could get it going at the same time as anybody else. This year, it’s so much fun watching different players contribute in bunches. I’m looking forward to seeing them play in person in July.

PS: If you have some time on your hands, check out the clip of CC, Swish, and Bruney fishing from Yankees on Deck on YES.  Bruney is the Trout Master, apparently. Swish, like my husband and Joey on Friends, just wants to sit around eating sandwiches.

6 comments

  1. Jane Heller

    Loved that clip! And you’re right about Swish. He was totally into the sandwiches. Very funny. I’m with you about Tex. Totally solid. I like Coke, but I don’t trust him yet. He gives up homers and that scares me!

    http://janeheller.mlblogs.com

  2. Yankees Reality Check

    I know, the homers are killers. But for some reason the ones he gives up don’t feel the same as the ones Edwar Ramirez gives up. Plus, he really endeared himself to me in the post-game interview when he said he struck Morneau out because he was mad at him. That made me smile.

  3. Yankees Reality Check

    Dillon – I would love to see them keep the streak going. But if they don’t, I want them to keep this loose upbeat attitude going. I never want to be as tightly wound as all the Red Sox fans around us.

  4. rangerfandieter

    As a Ranger fan, I am glad that Mark is starting to heat up. He is a great 1st baseman and a great power hitter, but he is traditionaly a slow starter. I am going to the Rangers/Yankees next week in Arlington, looking foward to the series. Both teams are playing very well right now. Should be fun!!

  5. Yankees Reality Check

    Rangerfandieter – It’s refreshing to hear someone still loving a player that left his or her team. I think fans take too much of the contract stuff personally. But you’ve got a team that’s playing well anyway. I’ve been impressed with Tex since he got here. Enjoy watching them battle it out in Arlington!

Leave a Reply

